Eastern Cape Dept of Economic Development, Environmental Affairs and Tourism Bursary


Bursaries will be awarded to students within the following fields of study: Economics (BCom), Environment (BSc) and Tourism, more specifically, the following:

Bachelor of Commerce:

  • Animal, Plant and Environmental Studies
  • Coastal Management
  • Economic and Development Geography
  • Environmental and Geographic Studies
  • Environmental Law
  • Environmental Science and Management
  • Geography of Tourism
  • Marine Management
  • Tourism Development
  • Consumer Law Protection
  • Development Economics
  • Development Studies
  • Economics and Econometrics
  • Economics and Law
  • Economics and Politics
  • Economics and Public Finance
  • Economics and Statistics
  • Economics of TOther:
    • Applied Social Sciences
    • Communication
    • Monitoring and Evaluation
    • Psychology
    • Public Administration and Management

    The bursary will cover the following expenses: tuition, prescribed study material, accommodation and meals (up to a certain amount).

    Once students have graduated, they will be required to intern for the department for one year.


    Applicants must satisfy the following minimum entry criteria before applying:

    • South African citizen,
    • 35 years old or younger,
    • Reside in the Eastern Cape,
    • Proven financial need (earning no more than R5000/annum),
    • Students that have completed Matric must have achieved a minimum overall ā€œCā€ symbol,

    *Preference will be given to students from rural and impoverished areas.


    Application forms can be collected at your nearest DEDEAT regional office or the DEDEAT Head office (addresses below), between June and September annually.

      • Amathole Regional Office

    Alderwood House
    Palm Square Business Park
    Beacon Bay
    East London

      • Alfred Nzo Regional Office

    100 Main Street

      • Cacadu Regional Office

    C/O Belmont Terrace & Castle Hill
    Port Elizabeth

      • Chris Hani Regional Office

    Block E, Komani Park Offices

      • O.R. Tambo Regional Office

    Cnr Owen & Leeds Street
    Botha Sigcau Building
    5th Floor

      • Joe Gqabi Regional Office

    10 Smith Street
    Aliwal North


    The following supporting documents must accompany your application form:

    • ID document (certified copy),
    • Passport size photo,
    • Matric final results certificate/ June results,
    • Parents/ guardians ID documents (certified copies),
    • If you are currently in Matric: confidential report from the school principal and acceptance letter from a recognised tertiary institution,
    • If you are unemployed: Parents/ guardians proof of income (latest payslips),
    • If parents/ guardians are unemployed or retired: a certified affidavit confirming this.



    For any bursary queries, please contact:

      • Amathole Regional Office

    Mr. Zola Hewu
    Email: zola.hewu@deaet.ecape.gov.za
    Tel: 043 707 4000
    Fax: 043 748 2060

      • Alfred Nzo Regional Office

    Mrs Tembakazi Tshefu
    Email: thembakazi.tshefu@deaet.ecape.gov.za
    Tel: 039 256 0229/ 0234/ 0259
    Fax: 039 256 0249/ 0665

      • Cacadu Regional Office

    Mr. Leon Els
    Email: leon.els@deaet.ecape.gov.za
    Tel: 041 508 5808/00
    Fax: 041 508 5867

      • Chris Hani Regional Office

    Mr. Cira Ngetu
    Email: cira.ngetu@deaet.ecape.gov.za
    Tel: 045 808 4000
    Fax: 045 838 3981

      • O.R. Tambo Regional Office

    Mr. Sizakele Gabula
    Email: sizakele.gabula@deaet.ecape.gov.za
    Tel: 047 531 1191
    Fax: 047 531 887

      • Joe Gqabi Regional Office

    Mr. Mzukisi Mboto
    Email: mzukisi.mboto@dedea.gov.za
    Tel: 051 633 2901
    Fax: 051 633 3117

Job Department © 2016 Frontier Theme